Project Learning Tree Transitions to the Sustainable Forestry Initiative

On July 15, 2017, Project Learning Tree® (PLT) was transferred to the Sustainable Forestry Initiative® Inc. (SFI) from the American Forest Foundation (AFF).

A transition team comprised of members of PLT’s Education Operating Committee (EOC) and PLT coordinators representing state government agencies, forestry associations, non-profits, colleges and universities that deliver PLT programming across the country is in place to help ensure the transition of PLT from AFF to SFI is as smooth as possible.  The full list of the transition team members can be found below.

SFI is a non-profit, charitable organization that has become a sustainability leader dedicated to the future of our forests. SFI’s mission, vision, and key objectives are to strengthen the connections between the conservation values of responsibly managed forests and sustainable communities, as well as provide supply chain assurances. SFI’s community engagement programs have long included support for youth education and connecting youth to forests including previous support for PLT initiatives across the country.

PLT is aligned with SFI’s mission, vision, and key objectives, and bringing the PLT program under SFI’s umbrella will further SFI and PLT’s reach in ensuring today’s youth can be effective future leaders with a strong understanding of the value of responsibly managed forests, a commitment to sustainability, and the skills to make responsible decisions about the environment. PLT and SFI will also work together to engage youth in conservation activities and outdoor education.

Please feel free to contact any of the individuals listed below with questions:

PLT Transition Team

Laura Downey, Ph.D.
PLT Education Operating Committee Co-Chair and Kansas PLT State Coordinator
Executive Director, Kansas Association for Conservation and Environmental Education
785-532-3322
ldowney@kacee.org 

Rafael Salgado
PLT Education Operating Committee Co-Chair
Executive Director, Cal-Wood Education Center, Colorado
303-449-0603
rafael@calwood.org

Peter Church
PLT Education Operating Committee Member
Director of Forest Stewardship, Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation
617-626-1250
peter.church@state.ma.us

Renee Strnad
PLT Education Operating Committee State Coordinator Representative and North Carolina PLT State Coordinator
NC Certified Environmental Educator, NC State University-Extension Forestry
919-515-5518
renee_strnad@ncsu.edu

Ada Takacs
PLT Education Operating Committee State Coordinator Representative and Michigan PLT State Coordinator
Volunteer Programs Coordinator, Michigan Department of Natural Resources, Forest Resources Division
231-922-6048
takacsa@michigan.gov

Betsy Ukeritis
New York PLT State Coordinator
Inter-regional Environmental Educator, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation, Bureau of Environmental Education
315-426-7532
projectlearningtree@dec.ny.gov

Rob Beadel
Arkansas PLT State Coordinator
Director of Forestry Education, Arkansas Forestry Association
501-374-2441
rbeadel@arkforests.org

Ashley Hoffman
Kentucky PLT State Coordinator
Executive Director, Kentucky Association for Environmental Education
270-214-0587
director@kaee.org

Susan Sahnow
Oregon PLT State Coordinator
Director, Oregon Natural Resources Education Program
541-737-3005
susan.sahnow@oregonstate.edu

Sustainable Forestry Initiative® Inc.

Kathy Abusow
President & CEO
Sustainable Forestry Initiative Inc.
613-722-8734
Kathy.Abusow@sfiprogram.org

Nadine Block
Chief Operating Officer and Senior VP, Public Affairs
Sustainable Forestry Initiative Inc.
202-596-3456
Nadine.Block@sfiprogram.org